Boundary Road Signs – East Riding of Yorkshire

With numerous campaigns on going I will attempt to keep everyone updated on a regular basis. To date I have received numerous read receipts and holding emails, all standard procedure.

Should I be surprised that the Department for Transport (DfT) Engagement Manager, Northern Engagement Team, Leeds did not say whether he agreed or disagreed that the East Riding of Yorkshire Council (ERYC) boundary signs are ambiguous?

Perhaps I should be surprised that Anthony Boucher  Deputy Director of Traffic at the DfT who is responsible for traffic management policy, regulation, guidance and standards including street design, street works, traffic signs, civil enforcement and the blue badge scheme intervened?

Despite his intervention Mr Boucher also did not answer my question and indeed informed me that: I would therefore advise you that the Department will not respond to any further correspondence from you on this issue.”

Why are the DfT refusing to answer my questions and attempting to cease my communication with them? I have sent the following email to Mr Boucher:

Dear Mr Boucher,

Thank you for your email and pdf.

Fundamental to my communication with the DfT is that:

  • The name for the East Riding of Yorkshire is East Riding of Yorkshire.
  • The name for East Riding of Yorkshire Council (ERYC) is East Riding of Yorkshire Council.
  • Both ERYC and the East Riding of Yorkshire exist as separate entities.

I am of the opinion that those signs erected to mark the boundary of ERYC breach fundamental legislation as “Signs must give road users their message clearly and at the correct time. The message must be unambiguous and speedily understood”**

**This is contained in the Traffic Signs Manual Chapter 01, Page 9, Part 1.2. I have attached the TSM for your reference.

I believe the signs are clearly ambiguous as they state East Riding of Yorkshire to mark the ERYC boundary. For the signs to be complaint of the legislation I believe they should state East Riding of Yorkshire Council. 

I politely ask two questions:

  1. Do the DfT agree with my opinion that the signs are ambiguous?
  2. Are the DfT/HA responsible for the East Riding of Yorkshire signs on the A63, M62 and M18?

If you are unable or unwilling to answer my two questions could I please request that you forward me full details of the DfT complaints procedure.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards,

Andy

This entry was posted in Campaigns, East Riding, Illegal Road Signs. Bookmark the permalink.