River Derwent Road Sign

Driving  in the East Riding of Yorkshire recently from Sutton upon Derwent to Elvington I was greeted by the sight of these road signs before crossing the River Derwent.

River Derwent

Why have the East Riding of Yorkshire Council (ERYC) wasted money on a second River Derwent sign only 8 metres from the original one?

Following my complaint they have today stated: “I would agree that there is unnecessary duplication of signage and I will ask our highways team to remove the duplication.” 

To prevent further possible waste of finance I have requested that no sign is removed until certain questions are answered including:

  1. When did East Riding of Yorkshire Council (ERYC) erect the new sign?
  2. How much did the sign cost to produce and erect?
  3. When an existing River Derwent sign is only 8 metres away why did ERYC waste finance erecting a new sign?

Always good to see my council tax wisely spent!!

This entry was posted in Campaigns, East Riding, Illegal Road Signs. Bookmark the permalink.