County Durham Flag – Boundary Confusion

I am surprised to be receiving emails from County Durham folk who believe that the County Durham boundary changed in 1974. This extract from The Times – 1st April 1974  confirms this belief to be incorrect: “They are administrative areas, and will not alter the traditional boundaries of counties, nor is it intended that the loyalties of people living in them will change.”


In 1974 County Durham ceased to carry out administrative functions. County Durham has not become the area solely administered by Durham County Council. In addition County Durham still includes Durham, Sunderland, Hartlepool, Gateshead, Darlington and Stockton-on-Tees.

This statement issued on 23 April 2013 by the Department of Communities and Local Government clearly asserts that England’s historic and traditional counties still exist, and are now recognised by the government.

This entry was posted in County Durham, Flags. Bookmark the permalink.