ERYC – False Advertising Claims

East Riding of Yorkshire Council (ERYC) claimed that the £1.6m propaganda magazine scandal was offset by £559,347 in advertising. Yet on Friday Alan Menzies, Director of Planning and Economic Regeneration, ERYC stated:

“The figure given for advertising reflects that it was not spent on external publications.”

Your East Riding

Email To ERYC Councillors

—– Original Message —–

From: Andy Strangeway

To: Andy Strangeway

Cc: alan.menzies@eastriding.gov.uk

Sent: Sunday, August 09, 2015 11:33 AM

Subject: Complaint – ERYC £1.6 Million Propaganda Scandal

Dear Councilllor,

This email has been blind copied to all 67 ERYC Councillors.

Could I please refer you to https://andystrangeway.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/eryc-false-advertising-claims/

Could I please request that you read the emails below between myself and Alan? Could I especially refer you to Alan’s email date Tuesday, August 04, 2015 1:07 PM in which he states:

“The figure given for advertising reflects that it was not spent on external publications.”

In plain English – ERYC received not one penny from advertising income, yet they are claiming that they received £559,347. In essence they may have spent £559,347 on advertising if they did not publish the magazine. Would any of you like to claim £559,347 that you may have spent on your next tax return? Of course not, as I believe that would be fraud.

Is this “cooking the books” or corruption?

Please be aware that this information was originally supplied to me via an FOI request. As such, this information now appears to be false. This case will be of great interest to the ICO.

We now have a situation where not only are ERYC wasting over £1.6m on a propaganda magazine, but it now appears that their FOI department and Director are now complicit in “cooking the books”.

Of course, as a humble painter and decorator, I may be mistaken. If I am, would anyone like to produce one invoice issued for advertising in the East Riding magazine in the past six years?

I would politely suggest that you all discuss this within the next 5 working days and come back to me with your opinions and a solution to a rather sad situation.

If you would prefer to decline my suggestion, please let me know and I will pass it over to the ICO and register a complaint against your FOI department, Alan and all 67 councillors who at that point would all be complicit.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards,

Andy Strangeway

https://andystrangeway.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Campaigns, East Riding of Yorkshire. Bookmark the permalink.