Councillor Joe Plant – Please Ticket Us

Councillor Joe Plant was fundamental in the North Yorkshire County Council (NYCC)/Scarborough Borough Council (SBC) attempts to ban motorhomers parking overnight in the SBC area, witness this 2012 email.

Joe Plant - Overnight Ban (2)

As such, I believe Joe should now prove to those who voted for him, that SBC can enforce the On Street Parking Order, which has cost NYCC/SBC thousands of pounds to create. I have constantly stated that the Order is unenforceable. Some of the reasons are:

  1. The PCN Code 91 relates to a class not a type – A motorhome is not a class it is a type of vehicle.
  2. The signs relate to motor caravans – those attending ASOP meetings have no table and as such, as per the EU Directive, are not a motor caravan.
  3. Some ASOP supporters are New Travellers – therefore SBC must deal with them via New Traveller legislation. This means they must firstly give legal notice of 48 hours to 14 days for the New Travellers to vacate their “unauthorised site”. Of course this notice can be ignored.
  4. The SBC Stage 2 of enforcing a Parking Ticket is to issue a “Notice To Owner”. They should issue a “Notice to Registered Keeper”. By issuing a “Notice To Owner” SBC make a Procedural Impropriety and thus cannot enforce the Parking Ticket.

Registered Keeper

Email To Councillor Joe Plant

From: ANDY

Sent: Saturday, January 2, 2016 11:51 AM

To: Cllr.Joseph.Plant@scarborough.gov.uk

Cc: Cllr.Alf.Abbott@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.andrew.backhouse@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Andrew.Jenkinson@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.callam.walsh@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.clive.pearson@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.David.Chance@northyorks.gov.uk ; Cllr.David.Jeffels@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.derek.bastiman@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.godfrey.allanson@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Guy.Coulson@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Hazel.Lynskey@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.heather.phillips@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Helen.Mallory@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Jane.Mortimer@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.john.nock@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.luke.backhouse@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Lynn.Bastiman@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Marie.Harland@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Martin.Smith@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Michelle.Donohue-Moncrieff@Scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.phil.trumper@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.roberta.swiers@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.sandra.turner@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Simon.Green@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Tom.Fox@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.dilys.cluer@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.mark.vesey@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Bill.Chatt@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Janet.Jefferson@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.mike.cockerill@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.carl.maw@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.david.billing@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Eric.Broadbent@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.gerald.dennett@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.John.Ritchie@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.John.Warburton@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.liz.colling@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.neil.price@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.paul.cross@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.richard.moody@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.rob.barnett@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.steve.siddons@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.tony.randerson@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.vanda.inman@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Colin.Haddington@scarborough.gov.uk ; cllr.jonathan.dodds@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Norman.Murphy@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.Roxanne.Murphy@scarborough.gov.uk ; Cllr.sam.cross@scarborough.gov.uk

Subject: Councillor Joe Plant – Please Ticket Us

Dear Joe,

Firstly, may I wish you and your fellow Councillors a Happy New Year.

Could I please refer you to https://andystrangeway.wordpress.com/2016/01/02/councillor-joe-plant-please-ticket-us/

As ASOP want to make it as easy as possible for SBC to issue us with parking tickets we will:

  1. Text you at 22.00 on Saturday 9 January to inform you of our chosen “No Motor Caravan” location.
  2. Consider a request from you, to be received by 17.00 on Tuesday 5 January, a “No Motor Caravan” location in either Filey, Scarborough or Whitby you would prefer us to park.

Kindest Regards,

Andy Strangeway

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Campaigns, Scarborough Borough Council. Bookmark the permalink.