County Durham Flag

Free To Use High Res County Durham Flag UK-County Durham

The County Durham flag was designed by Katie, Holly and James Moffatt from Chilton, County Durham. It was registered on the UK Flag Registry on Thursday 21 November 2013 after the unfurling at Durham Cathedral. The unfurling was attended by Susan Snowden the Lord-Lieutenant of County Durham, Councillor Pauline Charlton the Chairman of Durham County Council, the Mayor of Darlington and the Very Reverend Michael Sadgrove, Dean of Durham Cathedral.

County Durham Flag

At the unfurling  my speech outlined the background to the County Durham flag. James gave an address explaining how he came up with the design. After the unfurling the flag was hoisted from the top of the Cathedral by Katie and Holly Moffatt.

The flag is based on the St Cuthbert’s cross, with the whole design counter-changed horizontally between the County Durham colours of blue and yellow and was blessed by the Dean at the unfurling.

The flag was chosen by a public vote, following a competition to design a flag for County Durham which was launched on Monday 1 July 2013. Six designs were selected from numerous entries, by a panel of judges, for everyone to vote for their favourite design.

County Durham Map

Purchasing County Durham Flags

The first County Durham flag was made by Flying Colours of Knaresbrough. Printed and hand-made County Durham flags can now be purchased from them.

Polyester economy County Durham flags can be ordered from World Flag Shop. They are 5ft x 3ft, cost – £7.50 + p&p.

Useful Links

County Durham Flag Facebook Page

History of the County Durham Flag

County Durham

Flag Institute

UK Flag Registry

County Durham Terminology

County Durham One of the 92 counties of ancient origin which for centuries formed, and continue to form, a commonly agreed way of referring to the different parts of the United Kingdom. Existed for over 1,000 years to the present day. Durham, Sunderland, South Shields, Jarrow, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees and Darlington are all part of County Durham. County Durham is a traditional/historic county.

County Durham Lieutenancy The Lord-Lieutenant of County Durham represents Her Majesty in areas within County Durham District boundaries’, in addition to the areas within the boundaries of Darlington Borough, Hartlepool Borough, that part of Stockton-on-Tees Borough to the north of the Tees and an area of historic Yorkshire south of the River Tees but to the north of the North Yorkshire administrative area. County Durham is a ceremonial county.

County Durham A unitary district for the administration of local government. It administers Durham but does not administer Sunderland, South Shields, Jarrow, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees and Darlington. Existed from 2009 onward. County Durham is a unitary district.